I’ve never really been an American Idol fan. This year it kind of peaked my interest when I heard that Seattle (my hometown) was labeled the Least Talented City in America.

Really? The home of Nordstrom, Eddie Bauer, Microsoft, Amazon.com, Starbucks, Costco, the only Science Fiction Museum and the Pike Place Fish Market — no talent? Oh……you’re talking about people who can sing Donna Summer songs. Never mind.

USA Today ran a story last week about the least talented city’s entrant Sanjaya Malakar. He’s made the top 9 apparently and that success could “subvert the show”!!

How? Because his singing is not that great. Excuse me, since when does THAT matter to commercially successful talent?

How do you think Bob Dylan would’ve done on the show? Or Neil Young (sorry Greg)? Rickie Lee Jones singing MacArthur Park?

There are many theories swirling around about his success. One is that Howard Stern has been appealing to listeners to vote for him – in hopes of destroying the show. I’d like to think some Seattle-ites are pissed off and trying to make a point. But the cool thing about it, is the common bond. Love it or hate it (the show) we all want to see Simon Cowell go away. Right?

Oh, maybe that’s just me.

