Yesterday I debated Ron Shevlin. As some of you know, we do not agree on the topic of Net Promoter Score. I think it’s the greatest thing since sliced bread (which still amazes me) and he thinks it’s a load of poo. It was great fun, a little scary at times, and definitely a new skill for me. Live debate. As my dear friend Denise Gable said, “What were you thinking?”

It’s one thing to debate on a blog – where you have time to think and write and re-write and ponder. In front of 120 people, not so much.

The audience joined in at the end and one gentleman asked (and I’m paraphrasing here) if the credit union “model” is even viable today. Being called a Professional Consult-entainer (thanks for that Ron) seemed like a brush of a feather compared to this question. It really knocked me on my you-know-what.

I asked him how long he’d been a part of our movement. Seven years, was his answer and then quickly followed up with, before that I was with Wachovia Bank. He went on to say that we are basically money movers. There’s no emotion.

“Is this industry really about moving money from those who have it to those who don’t? If so, I’m out.” That’s what Matt Dean “twittered” during the debate.

I couldn’t agree more.

I didn’t sleep well last night. It was like a doctor telling you there’s no hope and you have to be prepared to say your last good-bye.

War’s over man. Wormer dropped the big one.

Over? Did you say “over”? Nothing is over until we decide it is! And it ain’t over now. ‘Cause when the going gets tough………….the tough get going.

Who’s with me?

