You don’t see it on the Today show. You’re lucky to hear about it on a local radio show but if you visit most credit unions today you will probably get a cookie.

I’m going to be speaking to the entire staff of Spokane Federal Credit Union tonight. I’m excited. I’m fired up to tell the story of how a wealthy Boston merchant (Ed Filene) traveled around the country forming financial cooperatives. BEFORE we had air conditioning, iPhones, airplanes, and TiVo.

I had lunch with an awesome credit union CEO recently who said how tough it is to run a credit union today. I reminded him that the Great Depression was tough too. Credit unions survived that!! Why? Because we were needed. People helping people isn’t just a catch phrase, it’s a way of life.

Today is the day to do something cooperative!

