Many of you know that I have a kind of love/not so much love relationship with Ron Shevlin. He’s an amazing writer (you should get his book, even if you are an NPS zealot like me) and an amazing debater – often with himself. But a blog post from earlier this month has really got me thinking.

He was adamant that Customer Service is NOT the New Marketing. Citing an Adweek/IQ Daily Briefing that asks the question IS Customer Service the New Marketing:

“Companies need to start treating customer service as an investment rather than an expense. The necessary ‘white glove’ level of service required to create raving fans is more expensive in the short-term, but in the long term you not only spend less supporting current customers,” he writes. “Their free word-of-mouth marketing will help you add more customers.”

I can tell you for certain, that I got white glove treatment at Nordstrom today. I know some of you are probably thinking, well, duh, Nordstrom is KNOWN for their customer service. Hmmmmm, not their marketing?

You see, I needed some new bras.

Anyway, Nordstrom cares about your bra. So much that I had this wonderful young lady spend 45 minutes with me – trying on bras. She was committed to me finding the best fit, the most attractive, and longest-lasting bras. I bought 5. I spent over $300.00. She works on commission. Customer service or marketing?

You make the call.

SIDEBAR: Did you know that 8 out of 10 women are wearing the wrong size bra? AND that Tide and Woolite greatly reduce the elasticity of your bras? Just two of the fascinating things I learned today from….customer service. Not a marketing brochure.

