Our greatest fear is not that we will fail – but that we will be successful beyond measure. (that’s paraphrasing one of my favorite quotes by Marianne Williamson).

I love to brain storm. Give me a flip chart, a juicy (preferably scented) pen, a group of fun people, some context and ten minutes and let’s see what we can come up with. I find though, that the more clever the ideas, the more someone in the group is tempted to “poo poo” it. You know. Shoot it down. Kill the beast. Dig deep for some rule or reg that will surely allow us to avoid being that good.

Why do we do this? It’s simple. Fear. Not, of failure – but what IF we do that and it WORKS and we are CRAZY BUSY??

Twitter was a simple concept. Let people IM in groups. Make it easy. Make it free. Today it reached capacity. Does it make me want to look up a competitor? NO! It’s like when you see a restaurant with a crazy long line. You want to get in it. I’ll wait. My friends are on there. It’s worth the wait.

The “empty” restaurant across the street – what’s wrong with it? I don’t want to go there – I want the crazy one people are clamoring to get in.

Think about it – look at your lobby.

Do you need a brainstorming session?

