Laughlin, Nevada. November 18, 2008.
7:25 pm.

We’ve been driving since 8:30 this morning. Started out in Sacramento. One stop in Bakersfield. Came off the interstate about 20 minutes ago. It’s dark. The road has turned into a roller coaster. High beams are on, but it doesn’t help. I see something glowing over the hill. Maybe I’ve been listening to too many Coast-to-Coast with George Noory podcasts today – I think I see aliens.

And there it is – Harrah’s Laughlin. THAT was the glowy thing. And right next to it – Tropicana, Gold Nugget, and the Colorado Belle (hotelle that looks like a big river boat). A little weird Vegas along the Colorado river. How weird.

But here’s the best part. Not only was our hotel room only $41.00 (and that includes tax) but they boast an all-you-can-eat shrimp buffet for — wait for it– $1.22!!! (No – I did not partake. My rule. If you can’t smell the ocean, don’t order the seafood.)

Did I mention? Laughlin is practically a ghost town.

It’s official – we’re in a recession.

