Last week-end I pulled weeds. Not just any weeds. Let me put it this way. If there was a dandelion category at the state fair – these dandelions would take the blue ribbon. I mean to say, these babies had roots as big as carrots. I filled five Hefty bags with weeds.

They were in full bloom. Some with bright yellow blooms and some had gone to those wonderful pillowy mini parachutes that you blew on as a kid. And I’m out there thinking why do we hate these beautiful flowers so much? Clearly they will withstand a nuclear attack, can grow in concrete and as the old Timex commercials touted, “It takes a licking, but keeps on ticking..” Case in point. Mow a dandelion – two hours later, it’s back!

So why do we scorn them? Because someone along the way decided they were evil.

Definition of a weed: A plant considered undesirable, unattractive, or troublesome, especially growing where it is not wanted, as in a garden.

But what if your house is a rental house and we inherited the weeds? I don’t have a garden, don’t plan to start one. They were here first. Shouldn’t we be thankful for their bounty and color?

No. Because our neighbors will scorn them and us. We are, after all, the rental house on the block. Sure, they could possibly expect it from us – to look more ghetto – but peer pressure made me go out there and kill them. One by one. I don’t want anyone to think I’m not a good neighbor.

You unwanted, undesirable yellow flowers – society has decided you must die. You are bad – and those petunias, marigolds and dusty millers I bought at Home Depot (for almost 30 bucks) that will maybe last three months are good. So kill the free hearty stuff with medicinal qualities, and replace it with seasonal weaker stuff.
slide.001

Isn’t it time, in a recession, to reassess what’s good and bad? I say we let the dandelions flourish. You can eat them! We change our attitude towards weeds. We redefine weed – to only mean desirable growing plants that flourish in bad weather and economies.

